Forum

Welcome to the official website / forum site for Suzuki Swift Sport Owners Club (SSSOC).

Forum Navigation
You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Seized brake calliper

Hi guys, I own a 2015 Z32 which recently got a fresh set of EBC free stuff pads and discs. Whilst installing the mechanic said that my right calliper was seized however he beat it out, regreased and put back in. I still think it is SeiZed as a slight burning smell is noticed upon braking. Any help or advice will be appreciated as I can't find a calliper for the car

Go for a ride, try not to break hard much, when u stop touch the alloys and compare temperatures. if its hot one side than break is seized.

Im not an expert, this happened with my old car.

Ljay has reacted to this post.
Ljay

It could just be the paint on the new pads and factory anti corrosion grease getting hot for the first few miles but as the poster above has said test for heat after a drive.

You can - carefully - put your hand through the wheel towards your suspect brake and you will feel excessive heat before actually touching anything. You can flick a bit of water on the disc or even spit on it! If it is really hot it will sizzle

Brakes can sieze in two ways. The piston can sieze in the caliper, usually the simple fix though not cheap is to replace the whole caliper. A much more common problem is the sliding pins that the caliper is mounted on corrode and get stuck. If you live somewhere where there is lots of salt on the roads in winter (I do!) then its very worthwhile routine maintenance to free off these floating pins after every winter. New pins are £20ish per caliper.

You didn't say if it was the front or rear that you thought was hot. If its the rear could it be the hand brake mechanism? Maybe one of the hand brake cables is partially siezed.

If you still think its getting hot after another drive and you are not a DIY type then you'll have to ask your garage to look at it again.